.A Baroque Sonata
for  Carillon,  Harp,  or  Keyboard(s)  
I.    Preludio
II.   Aria  and  Trio;  Recitativo
III.  Finale

(13 pages of music)


         A Baroque Sonata offers three movements, the first of which is a Preludio in common time (i.e. in 4/4), featuring a compound rounded binary (da capo) structure. The second movement, Aria and Trio, presents an ornamented andante menuet (in 3/4) consisting of seven phrases, with each one repeated, followed by a contrasting trio (in 6/8), and the aria's return (without repeats). A brief recitativo passage leads to a lively Finale, a large rondo structure (i.e. ABACA in 12/8 and 6/4 meter) that alternates a refrain with two contrasting couplets (or verses) and returns once more with an abbreviated coda.

      The sonata was prepared on a standard piano keyboard, but it is designed for performance on carillon, harp or other keyboard instruments. The sonata's overall manner and harmonic language provide a mixture in equal parts of Baroque and Rococo influences, in spite of its titled implications. In keeping with period practice traditions, few interpretive instructions have been provided. A sensitive realization of the work will include the use of flexible tempos, varying dynamic levels, and a wide range of shadings and touches

Click the image below to download a
 complimentary letter-sized PDF booklet file